The History of Mt. Olive Lutheran Church
In the spring of 1956, the South Dakota LCMS District Mission Board was exploring the possibility of starting a mission congregation in Watertown. The Board sent Rev. Joseph Steinmeyer to explore the possibilities.
The first service was on Pentecost Sunday, May 20, 1956 in the basement of First Federal Savings and Loan. Forty-one attended the service. During this time a special committee from the District came to Watertown and purchased " Olive Place. " It was a city block with a beautiful Victorian house. The house was used as a parsonage, for Vacation Bible School, and for some Lenten service.
Voting Members met in January 1957. The Members signed the constitution and extended a call to Rev. Steinmeyer, and he accepted.
The Congregation moved to the 7th Day Adventist Church building. They worshiped there for 9 years. The ground breaking for the addition was October 1966. The Victorian house was sold and moved to a new location. A parsonage was under construction at this time.
In January 1990, work began on the main sanctuary. The members were able to do much of the work on the building themselves, thereby saving a considerable amount of money. The new addition was dedicated in June 1991.
Pastors who served Mt. Olive: